The Struggles of doing Laundry in College

I get it, doing laundry isn’t that big of a deal right? It really isn’t, but with most everything, there are a set of annoyances that come with it when you pair it with the fact that you are at college.

Image result for i don't want to do laundry

  1. You have to do it (and fold it too)

Your parents are not there anymore to help with laundry so you will need to know how to do it (how much soap, what can and can’t be dried completely, what should be hand washed, etc.). It’s just another responsibility to add to the list when it comes to living without your parents (doing adult things can be hard). Sometimes, the hard part is just finding the motivation (and time) to walk yourself there and start the load.

  1. Carrying it there

Maybe you’re lucky and there are laundry facilities on your floor, good for you! But unfortunately, there is also the chance that the laundry facilities are in the basement and you live on the top floor.  This becomes even more unfortunate when all of the washers and dryers are in use.

  1. Having to pay for it

For some lucky people, laundry at their college is free, but chances are, you will be paying for laundry in college. Some people get around this by just bringing their dirty clothes home every weekend, but not everyone lives that close to home or can afford that kind of gas usage.

quarters

  1. Other people

For some people, it is not the act of doing laundry at the college that is the bad part, sometimes it is other individual’s habits.

I have experienced, time and time again, that people will just forget their stuff that is in the washer or dryer and just leave it there for ages. There are times when I have gone to do laundry and BOTH laundry rooms were full with loads
that were done and just sitting there. When I come across this, I just take my load back to my room and try to deal with it later, but there are some individuals who are not that patient. Sometimes, when someone leaves their load in the dryer or washer and it is done, someone will take the clothes out and put them on the table or floor so they can start their load.

Another habit that I have noticed is that some people do not know hdryer-2ow to empty their pockets of gum. I am not exaggerating when I say that every time I go down to start laundry, there is gum in at least two of the dryers, and sometimes those two are the only ones open. If you ever do end up with gum on some of your clothing from this, there is a simple way to get it off, that even college kids can do, as described in this video! You could also try just rubbing ice on it instead if that is more appealing to you! 🙂

If you are one of those people who just does not want to deal with laundry, you will unfortunately have to overcome that and just deal with it. The dos and don’ts of doing laundry in college dorms is an article filled with laundry room etiquette and tips to get you through the process!

 

10 thoughts on “The Struggles of doing Laundry in College

  1. I have never related to something so much in my entire life. I am currently doing laundry and I literally just folded and put away my load from last week today!
    Also one of the best days of my life was when I brought $20 worth of quarters to school and they told us that laundry was included in our tuition.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed your post and each one of those are so true!! I especially like reading your number four about other people and doing laundry. I hate when people just leave their stuff in the washer and dryer. Keep up the good work!!

    Like

  3. I sometimes hate doing laundry here at Chadron. I am fortunate enough to have a washer and dryer on my floor, but it’s almost always in use. It drives me crazy. One Saturday, I woke up at 10 in the morning, gathered my clothes, and headed straight for the washer. When I reached the room the washer was taken and the timer said there was only 15 minutes left on it. I then waited roughly around 17 minutes to give whoever was doing laundry some time to gather their belongings, but that was totally my mistake because by the time I got there it was already occupied again. This kept happening all the way up until 11 that night. It drove me insane.

    Like

  4. Personally, I loved doing my own laundry & folding but I can certainly, absolutely concur that it was a pain in the patootie dealing with clothes that had been left for hours upon hours in the washer and/dryer. Then people get agitated that you touched their clothes! I mean, come on now, you have to be considerate of others because we are all on a tight schedule to get our clothes done. I would put my clothes in the washer, wait as long as I possibly can for the person to get their clothes out of the dryer…sometimes I just washed my clothes again to pass by some time!
    ~ Bre

    Like

Leave a comment